Photo credit: Geoff Ridder

Another great epay Silver Fern Rally has been run and won and some milestones have been set.

For the first time in the history of the event, first held in 2006, an international crew – Vince Bristow/Dean Mitchell of the UK – won the prestigious Historic Trophy. Amazingly in this, the fifth running of the event, it was the first time a Canterbury driver has not taken the trophy. Prior to Bristow’s victory Brian Stokes had won in 2006 followed by Andrew Grundy in 2008, Jeff Judd in 2010 and Deane Buist in 2012.

Many internationals have contested the event in all those years but until this year none had been able to win it.

However win or lose there is little doubt that the international crews love New Zealand and all it has to offer. As happens after every Silver Fern many of the overseas teams stayed on and toured and enjoyed our country.

As the rally concluded there was another success. Rally organisers were only too happy to help support Hannah MacDonald with her collection for cancer. Hannah’s father John, a rally competitor, has battled three cancers and has entered but never been able to contest the Silver Fern due to his illness. Rally organisers were happy to support Hannah’s efforts, particularly in light of the fact that two great friends of the rally Andrew Grundy and Willie Rutherford have both lost their lives to the disease. Hannah’s cancer charity collection raised approximately $1400 on the day at both the finish and prizegiving function.

The 2014 epay Silver Fern Rally was once again a major logistical exercise and the organising committee would like to thank and acknowledge the contribution of  all entrants, teams, volunteers, officials, councils, residents, forests and Special Stage road users for making the event a success.

Lindsay Beer
2014 epay Silver Fern Rally

About admin

Leave a Reply